The mosque of Emir Seif ed-Dine Taynal el-Hajele was constructed in the year 1336 in the middle of Tripoli among extensive orange groves, not far from the Abu Ali river, although at present it is surrounded by tall buildings and roads.
This mosque was constructed on top of the remains of a church put up by the Carmelite Fathers at the time of the Crusades, while the Crusaders themselves had built the church on the traces of a Roman temple dedicated to Zeus, locally called Baal. In this mosque there is the vault of Seif ed-Dine Taynal close to the inner hall of prayer and a marble patio surrounded by four chambers that were used by the councils of the four schools of magistrates of Tripoli during the time of the Mamelukes, the Shafiyyeh, the Hanafiyyeh , the Malikiyyeh and the Hanbaliyyeh.
There are two halls for prayer, the first of which is crowned by a large dome held up on Byzantine-Corinthian capitals on four granite columns brought from Egypt of the Pharaohs. The floor is paved with marble in geometric forms, while separating the two halls there is a door embellished with bas-reliefs, whose decoration is considered as the finest work of the time of the Mamelukes.
In the second hall is the Mihrab and the wooden trunk both executed by the master craftsman Mohammad as-Safadi.